Six Weeks til Kili

July 13, 2012 § 2 Comments

(photo courtesy of Picture Taker 2, fotopedia)

This week marked just six weeks to go until I fly out of rain-drenched London to the (hopefully) warming heat of Africa and climb Mt. Kilimanjaro.

It seemed like a good time to let you all know how things are progressing. And they are progressing very well.

The Jabs Part

I’ve officially had all the jabs I could possibly need: Hep A & B, rabies, yellow fever, typhoid fever, tetanus/diphtheria/polio, have spent £50 on malaria tablets and am set for my cholera sachets.

It’s possible that I am being a little over-cautious but getting sick in a foreign country is definitely not on my to-do list while I’m travelling.

The Kit Part 

At our very first meeting we were given an extensive kit list  that I’ve been making my way through. So far I’ve purchased: hiking boots (surprisingly comfortable), a waterproof jacket and trousers (not matching), a travel towel, a head-lamp and thermal underwear.

My lovely friend Nicky is kindly lending me a day-pack, but I’ve yet to find a warm, cheap(ish) sleeping bag – if anyone knows of someone who has one to lend I’d be very appreciative!

The rest of the things are small, like insect repellent, snacks and biodegradable shampoo and conditioner. Anyone actually know where you can buy biodegradable shampoo and conditioner???

The Visa Part

After thinking, consulting and researching I’ve gone ahead and gotten my visa for Tanzania. An easy £38 and three working days and BAM, all done. If only getting a visa into the UK was as easy……

I still have to look into whether I need to get a visa for Kenya prior to leaving the UK. It’s on my ‘to do’ list, along with finish my final project and get a job.

The Fundraising Part

Lastly, the bit about the money. This past Monday I finally reached my fundraising target of £2,600 – something I’ve extremely proud of.

But I really should by thanking all the wonderful people who’ve put their faith in and me and what I’m doing and have forked out their money to help me.

So, once again I have to thank the following people:

– A HUGE thank you to my Dad who not only topped up the last of my fundraising money but gave me enough money to cover the second week of our trip

– Liz Whiteside and family

– Davina Oliver – was great to see you running for the SunWalk – I will definitely be supporting you on your next fundraising venture!

I promise you all that I’ll be writing down everything that I see and do during this fantastic adventure and I promise to share it will you 🙂

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Six Weeks til Kili

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Six Weeks til Kili at akiwiinlondon.

meta

