It’s that time of year….. for Love Actually

December 5, 2011 § 2 Comments

About this time every year, as Christmas draws nearer and nearer, ‘Christmas’ films dominate our TV screens.

Everyone has their favourite, whether it is the classic It’s a Wonderful Life, the hilarious Tim Allen in The Santa Claus or  something else entirely.

For me, ever since it came out in 2003, my ‘must-see’ Christmas movie is the wonderful Love Actually.

What it’s all about? 

For those of you who have not yet experienced the Christmas/rom-com magic that it Love Actually I’ll give you a brief plot outline.

The movie goes through eight different romantic-based story-lines in the lead-up to Christmas. I won’t go through them all, but here a just a few….

1) The story of grieving Daniel (Liam Neeson) who helps his step-son Sam (Thomas Sangster) win the heart of his school-crush

2) Jaime (Colin Firth), escaping his failed relationship heads to the South of France, and in spite of language barriers falls for the ‘hired help’

3) Billy Mack (Bill Nighy) the over-the-hill rock-star trying to make a comeback and make it to the No.1 spot for Christmas

As you can tell from this brief spiel, the film is choc-full of well-known British actors, including Emma Thompson, Alan Rickman (aka Snape from Harry Potter), Hugh Grant (what’s a rom-com without him?!) and Mr. Bean’s Rowan Atkinson.

My Favourite Moments 

Now, if you get a group of people together, all who have seen (and presumably loved) this film, inevitably the question comes up: what are you favourite parts in the film?

Well, for me, I have three. So, counting down…. (I warn: they are sort of spoilers!)

3) Eva Cassidy’s “Songbird” playing in the background as Sarah (Laura Linney) leads the gorgeous Karl (Rodrigo Santoro) up to her room – (I really wanted a link to this scene, but couldn’t find it, so sorry for that!)

2) The newly elected British PM (Hugh Grant) dancing around No.10 Downing Street to ‘Jump’ (for the pure hilarity factor)

1) The heart-breaking scene  when Mark (Andrew Lincoln) comes to his best-mate’s wife Juliet (Keira Knightley) and expresses just how much he loves her (this scene gets me all welled up and wanting to shout at the screen “you picked the wrong guy!” every single time).

So, check your TV listings over the next few weeks, and look out for Love Actually to snuggle up on the sofa and watch. It’ll be worth it. I promise you.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to It’s that time of year….. for Love Actually

  • I bought Love Actually and watched it in the lead up to Christmas, it is an excellent movie that never fails to make me smile. Two movies that I always watch at Christmas time are White Christmas and The Muppets Christmas Carol, classic stories that I loved as a child and enjoy just as much as an adult.

    • It is my favourite Christmas movie – and the only one I ended up watching this year sadly.

      I’ve not heard of ‘White Christmas’ – will have to check it out. I don’t think i’ve ever actually watched the ‘Muppets Christmas Carol’ – at least not since I was a little girl.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading It’s that time of year….. for Love Actually at akiwiinlondon.

meta

