Climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro: Fundraising

January 31, 2012 § 4 Comments

(photo credited to Mailliw - flickr)

As some of you may remember, a little while ago I posted a blog about how I’ve decided to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro in Tanzania, this coming August. 

Two months later I am still determined as ever to accomplish this task, all in the name of charity (and, well, to tick one item off my ‘bucket list’).

Climbing for Dig Deep

While yes, I am doing this for myself, I am first and foremost doing it for charity. I, along with the other crazy members of the expedition group – Westminster IDs Climb Kili-  are climbing Kili for a charity called Dig Deep.

So, perhaps you are all wondering what does Dig Deep actually do?

Well, Dig Deep helps provide sustainable solutions to problems faced by communities in East Africa, such as helping to provide clean water.

The charity works with local communities and governments, as well as with other charities to accomplish their goals.

Projects include digging boreholes and shallow wells to create clean water. This not only improves the quality of health, but also means that girls in the communities can be educated as they no longer have to travel long distances to get clean water.

All in all it’s a pretty good cause to be supporting. And because the charity is largely run by volunteers they need people, like me and the rest of the team, to help them help others.

Fundraising

Naturally in order to accomplish this task of climbing the highest mountain in Africa (the summit is a huge 5895m – that’s 19,340 feet for those who don’t use the metric system) we have to fundraise.

Individually I have to raise £1,305, and with the group I have to raise the same amount again. Altogether we are aiming to raise £30,000 for Dig Deep’s next project.

As a group we have some great ideas up our sleeves (I don’t want to give them away just yet, but as they come together, I’ll let you know), but at the moment it’s mostly been bake sales at our University (all the members of the group attend Westminster University).

Individually, I have been asking family members and friends, as well as appealing to the better nature of some local businesses. It has been slow going and my grand total (drum-roll please) is: £50!

Your Help?

As you can tell I have a long way to go. But I’m determined that I will make my target, climb Mt. Kili and help 100’s maybe even 1,000s of people in Kenya.

Now, I am going to shamelessly ask you, my readers, if you too would be willing to help me out.

I know it’s a big ask – especially given that most of I only know through the blog-sphere.

But, if you think that this is something worthwhile supporting, then words will not be able to express how appreciative I would be.

If you feel that sponsoring me is something you are able or willing to do, please, I have a Just Giving page and it goes like this: http://www.justgiving.com/Alyce-Gibson

If anyone has any questions about what I’m doing, please, leave a comment and I’ll do my best to answer them.

Thanks,

Alyce.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro: Fundraising

  • fundraisingdee says:

    Alyce,

    I am not in a position to make a donation because I am taking a team of 30 trekkers to the Himalayas in 2013.

    I just wanted to encourage you that fundraising in this way is definitely possible. We have found that, people are more inclined to donate when they know that you are funding part of the trip yourself.

    The honesty you’ve shown in sharing why you have been so inspired to climb kili will really resonate with your donors, so stick with that, tell them that it is a ‘bucket list’ challenge, share the difference you believe it will make to yourself, and to the lives of others … and don’t lose your enthusiasm!

    Best of luck with the fundraising!
    Dee

    • Dee,

      First of all, good luck with your trek to the Himalayas! I imagine it will be an difficult but rewarding experience.

      Second of all, thank you very much for your lovely words of encouragement. Sometimes it’s little things like that, that really make the difference and help me to keep pressing on with this challenge.

      Best of luck to your fundraising efforts as well,

      Alyce.

      • fundraisingdee says:

        Hi Alyce

        Thanks so much for responding.

        Do keep us posted on how the fundraising is going, it’s always good to share successes, failures and ideas!

        Today is 1 Feb, time to get our skates on with the valentines fundraising.

        Dee

      • You’re welcome Dee,

        Well I am manning the weekly cake-stall tomorrow! I will keep everyone updated on how things are going.

        Good luck with your Valentines fundraising 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro: Fundraising at akiwiinlondon.

meta

