Simon the Pieman in Rye

January 3, 2012 § 2 Comments

Simon the Pieman shop - Rye

Recently, my mother and sister have come over from New Zealand for a five week holiday in the UK.

One day my Mum took my sister and I for a day trip to Rye, in the South East of England.

Following a tradition

Every year, when my Mum and her siblings were growing up they went and stayed with an aunt in the nearby town of Lydd. On this holiday they took a day trip to Rye.

The highlight: visiting the Simon the Pieman cafe. It was an experience my Mum wanted to share with my sister and I.

Simon the Pieman

So, on our trip to Rye, walking up the cobbled streets, we hunted out the Simon the Pieman cafe.

Succeeding, the three of us entered the lovely little cafe, sat ourselves down by the cosy fire and looked over the menu.

Fire-place @ Simon the Pieman

My sister and I  both ordered sausage rolls, which arrived warm and with salad (a little unusual in my opinion). My Mum had a toastie with ham.

Sweet Treats

However, the main point of our going to this particular cafe, was the sweet treats on offer.

I had a piece of chocolate cake (my appetite for anything chocolate is constant), and my sister a chocolate eclair.

My Mum ordered what she always ordered as a child: a HUGE meringue filled with cream.

Meringue @ Simon the Pieman, Rye

She says that it is exactly as she remembered having on those childhood holidays. I think there is something rather sweet about that (and I’m not talking about the meringue!)

My recommendation

So, if you are ever in Rye (which is actually a very lovely, historic, town) I would definitely recommend that you pop into Simon the Pieman.

Though be warned: it is not the cheapest of places, nor does it take credit or debit cards. The tradition of cash is continued here.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Simon the Pieman in Rye

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Simon the Pieman in Rye at akiwiinlondon.

meta

