Christmas Market comes to the South Bank

December 13, 2011 § 2 Comments

One of my favourite places in London is the South Bank. I love walking along the Thames, and looking over to the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben, particularly during dusk.

And at this time of year it just gets better. Why? Two words: Christmas Market. 

From the middle of November, right up to Christmas Eve, the South Bank, from the London Eye to Southbank Centre, is dotted with little wooden stalls selling food and gifts.

The food

The smells of mulled wine, chocolate-covered fruit, crepes, burgers and much more linger on the air and invite passersby to take a bite.

When I went this year, I couldn’t help but be enticed by the crepe stall. Now, call me a traditionalist but savoury options on a crepe just don’t seem right.

So, in all un-healthiness, I opted for a nutella and marshmallow creation. Delicious. And sticky. I highly recommend eating it with a knife and fork.

Nutella and marshmallow crepe

While the food is lovely (and surprisingly filling), it is certainly not cheap. I paid £4.50 for a crepe. My friend paid pretty much the same for a cup of mulled wine, and his burger cost £5.00. And remember folks: cash only.

Gift options

If you are looking for a little something to buy someone for Christmas, there are a number of cute and creative options at the Christmas Market.

Particularly sweet are the hat stalls where you can purchase head-wear in the shape of nearly any animal you can think of. I rather liked the panda option.

Panda Hat

Other stalls are a little more creative. One stall, Krista’s Creations, was selling ‘letter art’ photographs: photos of objects and nature that spell out letters.

You can buy a number of letters to create whatever word you want, like “love” for instance. Personally, I think it would make a lovely, original Christmas gift.

Atmosphere & Rides 

As you walk through the market you are surrounded by the sounds of Christmas music  coming from a number of speakers. Now, I like Christmas music, but after a while it does get a little tedious.

I feel sorry for those people having to work, listening to the same songs on repeat.

However, it does help to get you in the Christmas mood – Christmas songs just seem to have that magic.

And for the kiddies there is a carousel. For a couple of pounds you can sit back and watch you child go round-and-round. They are bound to love it! And the carousel looks incredibly pretty once night has come and is all lit up.

So, if you are looking for a little bit of Christmas magic head down to South Bank – nearest tube, Waterloo.

For opening times and directions, check out the website.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Christmas Market comes to the South Bank

  • Christmas markets sound wonderful, I’ve always wanted to experience a white Christmas, somehow many of the carols and traditions make more sense in a colder climate. Here we’ll be avoiding the heat by visiting air conditioned shopping centres, swimming at the beach and eating outdoors.

    Merry Christmas!

    • I have to admit I quite like the whole ‘white Christmas’ thing, but being from NZ I would still rather be sitting in the sun wearing short sleeves! Your Christmas sounds absolutely perfect to me 🙂

      Merry Christmas 🙂

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Christmas Market comes to the South Bank at akiwiinlondon.

meta